NMA Physician of the Year Award and Other Conference Highlights in the Caribbean

Norma J. Goodwin, M.D., Health Power President, received a Physician of the Year Award during the joint Regions I and II Conference of the National Medical Association (NMA), held at the Half Moon Hotel in Montego Bay, Jamaica West Indies from May 26 – May 29, 2016. The award was presented by Camille A. Clare, M.D., Chair of NMA Region I, Garfield A. D. Clunie, M.D., Chair, NMA Board of Trustees and Lornel G. Thompkins, M.D., Chair of NMA Region II.

Dr. Goodwin was especially recognized for her traditional role of speaking and moderating the Opening Session of the Region I Annual Conference for more than a decade which, this year, focused on “Health Care Disparities”.
A second Physician of the Year Award was awarded this year to Gary C. Butts, M.D., Dean for Diversity Programs, Policy and Community Affairs of Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai.

Other key participants in the conference program were:

  • Edith P. Mitchell, M.D., President of the NMA and Director, Center to Eliminate Cancer Disparities at Jefferson Medical College, who addressed “Personalized Medicine and Survival Improvement in Colorectal Cancer; and
  • Richard Allen Williams, M.D., President-Elect of the NMA and Clinical Professor of Medicine and Cardiology at UCLA School of Medicine, who addressed “Integrated Medicine Patient Centered Care.

Remember the Health Power Motto:  Knowledge + Action = Power!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *